Fume-Induced Divine Ramblings

Icon

Contacting Delphi… the oracle is unavailable. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Dying of Consumption

There was a substantial windfall last month. I finally came to the following conclusions regarding that money:

  1. Buying an Apple Cinema Display is asinine since my MacBook will be slowed down.
  2. Buying an iPhone will be chumpy since I’d have to pay at least $150 just to cancel the Verizon contract.
  3. Buying a MacBook Pro is imbecilic because I’ve not had my MacBook for even a year and it appears all the Apple laptops will be refreshed around September.
  4. Buying a flatscreen TV may not be a bad idea.

The problem is that of all the geeky electronics listed above the only one that really tugs at my heart is the iPhone. However, my financial sense holds me back. I still remember when I used to be in debt a few years back when I was coming out of college. There was definitely a sense of purpose and triumph when I buckled down and whittled down my $3,000 debt to zero. Now I promptly pay my credit card twice a month and make sure the credit card company makes no money off of me. The credit company actually sends me money since I have a rewards card. But I also keep thinking that all of the things I listed are completley unecessary. . . I’m acting as if the money is burning in my pocket. Sometimes I have to be reminded that all I need is a coffee, a book and some sunlight to derive lots of satisfaction.

Filed under: money

Apollyon

And the shapes of the locusts were like unto horses prepared unto battle; and on their heads were as it were crowns like gold, and their faces were as the faces of men. And they had hair as the hair of women, and their teeth were as the teeth of lions. And they had breastplates, as it were breastplates of iron; and the sound of their wings was as the sound of chariots of many horses running to battle. And they had tails like unto scorpions, and there were stings in their tails: and their power was to hurt men five months. And they had a king over them, which is the angel of the bottomless pit, whose name in the Hebrew tongue is Abaddon, but in the Greek tongue hath his name Apollyon.
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031